Time to start blogging again! I used to blog lots and I think it’s time to pick up the habit again.

I’ve been around computers & the internet for a while. My first computer was a ZX Spectrum in about 1987. I got my first PC (a 286!) a couple of years later and I got my first modem (a 9.6k US Robotics) in about 1992. I started my first blog back in 1998. It was hard coded HTML, before the days of WordPress, Blogger, Livejournal and other blog tools. At the time I was using Linux (usually Blackbox on Slackware, with the webpage on my own domain that I hosted initially on a P3 Linux box under my desk using Apache and PHP.) I have both a (low) 5 digit ICQ ID and (high) 5 digit Slashdot ID. 

More recently annoying things like a life and a career means that my relationship with the internet and computers has become on one hand, much more casual and on the other hand during work time much more about becoming a bit of an Excel power user. I’ve simply not had time to keep up with the learning curve and have become a boring Microsoft guy for the purpose of paying the bills.

A few years ago I was introduced to Twitter by getting involved in an ICAEW project on the use of social media. I’ve had an on/off relationship with Twitter since then. On the upside, I love the ‘broadcast’ style and because of Twitter I’ve met some really amazing people, but sometimes 140 characters just isn’t enough. Because of that I’ve picked this blog up again as a tool to get out some of those slightly more verbose thoughts.

Let’s see how it goes. Feedback welcome.

